# **Cross-Party Group Annual Return**

# Name of Cross-Party Group

#### **Cross-Party Group on Accident Prevention and Safety Awareness**

**Date Group Established** (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

08 June 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

18 June 2024

### Date Annual Return Submitted

19 June 2024

**Date of Preceding AGM** [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

6 June 2023

#### **Group Meetings and Activities**

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

6 June 2023	
Attendance: (hybrid)	Clare Adamson MSP Claire Baker MSP Miles Briggs MSP <b>31</b> Non MSPs
Topics Discussed:	Child Safety and AGM
Guest Speakers:	Katrina Phillips, CAPT Stephen Bridgeman, Public Health Scotland Laura Hamilton, Water Safety Scotland Jen Foley, Water Safety Scotland Carlene McAvoy, Water Safety Scotland James Sullivan, Water Safety Scotland Denise Kendrick, Nottingham University
21 November 2023	
Attendance: (hybrid)	Clare Adamson MSP Mark Griffin MSP <b>36</b> Non MSPs
Topics Discussed:	Falls
Guest Speakers:	Mark Griffin, MSP Dawn Skelton, Glasgow Caledonian University Julia Robinson, RoSPA Peter McCrossan, NHS Lanarkshire Robert Thomson, Care and Repair
6 February 2024	
Attendance: (hybrid)	Clare Adamson MSP Claire Baker MSP <b>37</b> Non MSPs
Topics Discussed:	Update on data

Guest Speakers:	Jim Brown, Binn Group Stephen Bridgman, Public Health Scotland Peter Bennet, Access Industry Forum Cathy Barlow, Scottish Fire and Rescue Service Carlene McAvoy, RoSPA Dr Karen McDonnell, RoSPA
26 March 2024	
Attendance (hybrid)	Clare Adamson MSP Claire Baker MSP <b>41</b> Non MSPs
Topics Discussed:	New Initiatives
Guest Speakers:	Wayne Bates, NASUWT Mary Kernohan, SnapDragon Adrian McConnell. CO Research Trust Scot McRory, FBU Hollie Parrilla-Royle ,NHSGGC Emma Smith, Glasgow City Duncan Spiers, Christopher's Life Saving Campaign Ian Tasker, Scottish Hazards

# **MSP Members of The Group**

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Clare Adamson MSP (SNP) Claire Baker MSP (Lab) Miles Briggs MSP (Con) Mark Griffin MSP (Lab) Stuart McMillan MSP (SNP)

# Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

	Andy Cathro
Individuals	Brian Topping
	David Birrell
	Elizabeth Lumsden
	Fred Cullum
	Ian McLaughlan
	Norman Stevenson
	Sarah Jones
	Sylvia McKay
Organisations	Action on Asbestos
gameatorio	AECOM
	Aramark
	British Psychological Society - Division of Health Psychology Scotland
	Cairney Cycles
	Canoe Scotland
	Care and Repair Forum Scotland
	Central Training Services Ltd
	Child Accident Prevention Trust
	Christopher's Life Saving Campaign
	City of Edinburgh Council
	CO Research Trust
	Consumer and Public Interest Network (CPIN)
	Convention of Scottish Local Authorities
	Cycling UK
	East Renfrewshire Council Trading Standards
	Electrical Safety First
	Enable Scotland
	Fife Council
	Fife Council Housing and Safer Communities Service
	Fire Brigade Union Scotland
	Fire Scotland
	Gas Safe Register
	Good Egg Safety CIC

Green Cross Training HSE Institution of Gas Engineers & Managers (IGEM) IOSH John McNicol Electrical Engineers Kingdom Housing Association Ltd Morgan Sindall NASUWT Network Rail NHS Dumfries and Galloway NHS Highland Play Scotland Public Health Scotland RNLI RoSPA Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health Royal Hospital for Children and Young People Royal Life Saving Society UK Safety Groups UK (SGUK) Scottish Hazards Scottish Adventure Activities Forum Scottish Canoe Association Scottish Cot Death Trust Scottish Swimming Scottish Trauma Network SELECT SGN Smart Play Network SnapDragon Monitoring SNIPEF Society of Chief Officers of Trading Standards in Scotland SSERC St Andrew's First Aid Tartan Silk TechnipFMC The Risk Factory The Wise Group

University of Aberdeen
Venture Trust
Viridis Safety
Wild Wimmin

### **Group Office Bearers**

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Clare Adamson MSP (SNP)
Deputy Convener	Claire Baker MSP (Lab)
Secretary	Carlene McAvoy (RoSPA)
Treasurer	N/A

If the Group is not disclosing any financial information please tick the box to confirm that the Group has considered the support received, but concluded it totalled under the threshold for disclosure (£500).

The benefit of RoSPA providing the secretariat to the Group and, for support to four meetings per year, is estimated at the nominal amount of £3,500.

This in-kind cost is an estimate referring to ten days per annum (at £350 per day) of RoSPA staff time over a year to both support and attend the meetings (e.g. attending, preparing and distributing agendas and minutes, time for phone calls, emails, liaison with members and speakers etc.)

The daily cost of £350 is worked out by including all the costs to RoSPA involved in employing the staff member such as: salary, national insurance, car allowance, heating, lighting, rent (and other office costs etc.) as well as central admin services (e.g. accounts, IT, HR, website, information centre etc.)

The cost of catering for the meetings of the Group has been met as follows:

June 2023	£ 31.50 AECOM	
November 2023	£ 31.50, NASUWT	
February 2024	£ 72.00 Electrical Safety First	
March 2024	£ 31.50 AECOM	
Subscription Charged by the Group		
Please provide details of the amount charged and the purpose for which the subscription is intended to be used.		
N/A		
Convener Contact Details		
Name	Clare Adamson MSP	
	Email: <u>clare.adamson.msp@parliament.scot</u>	
Parliamentary address	Room M4.10 Scottish Parliament	
Telephone number	0131 348 6376	