



# SPICe Fact Sheet Duilleagan Fiosrachaidh SPICe

## **Current Ministers and Law Officers**

The Scottish Government is made up of Cabinet Secretaries and Ministers, who are MSPs chosen by the First Minister. It also includes 2 Law Officers (the Lord Advocate and the Solicitor General for Scotland) who do not need to be MSPs.

This Fact Sheet lists all current Scottish Ministers and Law Officers

Published on 9 May 2024 by the authority of the Scottish Parliament



Party	Abbreviation
Alba Party	Alba
Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party	Con
Scottish Green Party	Green
Scottish Labour	Lab
Scottish Liberal Democrats	LD
Scottish National Party	SNP
Independent MSPs	Ind
No Party Affiliation	NPA
King's Counsel	KC

### **Ministers**

First Minister John Swinney (SNP)

Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Economy and Gaelic

Kate Forbes (SNP)

Cabinet Secretary for Finance and Local Government Shona Robison (SNP)

Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Care Neil Gray (SNP)

Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills Jenny Gilruth (SNP)

Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero and Energy Mairi McAllan (SNP)

Cabinet Secretary for Transport Fiona Hyslop (SNP)

Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs, Land Reform and Islands Mairi Gougeon (SNP)

Cabinet Secretary for Constitution, External Affairs and Culture Angus Robertson (SNP)

Cabinet Secretary for Social Justice Shirley-Anne Somerville (SNP)

Cabinet Secretary for Justice and Home Affairs Angela Constance (SNP)

Minister for Drugs and Alcohol Policy Christina McKelvie (SNP) **Minister for Parliamentary Business** 

Jamie Hepburn (SNP)

Minister for Public Finance Ivan McKee (SNP)

Minister for Employment and Investment Tom Arthur (SNP)

Minister for Public Health and Women's Health Jenni Minto (SNP)

Minister for Social Care, Mental Wellbeing and Sport Maree Todd (SNP)

Minister for Children, Young People and The Promise Natalie Don (SNP)

**Minister for Higher and Further Education and Minister for Veterans** Graeme Dey (SNP)

Minister for Agriculture and Connectivity Jim Fairlie (SNP)

Minister for Equalities Kaukab Stewart (SNP)

Minister for Business Richard Lochhead (SNP)

Minister for Climate Action Gillian Martin (SNP)

Minister for Housing Paul McLennan (SNP)

Minister for Victims and Community Safety Siobhian Brown (SNP)

### Law Officers

Lord Advocate Rt Hon Dorothy Bain KC

Solicitor General for Scotland Ruth Charteris KC

#### About SPICe

The **Scottish Parliament Information Centre (SPICe)** provides impartial, factual, accurate and timely information and analysis for the Parliament.

For more information please visit our website at <u>www.parliament.scot/chamber-and-</u> <u>committees/research-prepared-for-parliament</u>

Follow <u>SPICe on Twitter</u> to keep up to date with our work and new publications.